Who We Are

Established in 1989, The Council of Developers of Outlet Centers & Retailers (DOC&R) is a not-for-profit service organization dedicated to meeting the needs of those involved in the fast track “value” industry. 

Initially, the organization consisted of outlet center owners and developers, with a separate group, ORMA, operating on the retail side.  Following the dissolution of ORMA, The Council of Developers of Outlet Centers & Retailers recently expanded to add retailers to the mix. The result is a merger between two powerful forces – developers and retailers – both working to drive our niche retail category to the forefront of today’s marketplace.

Today, DOC&R is an internationally-focused organization that presents a strong forum for idea exchanges, strong interaction among members, and the opportunity to work in tandem to create processes, reporting structures, marketing programs and industry-wide promotions designed to advance outlet retail as the preferred shopping venue for today’s consumers and network with peers.

What We Do

DOC&R is a group of dedicated, devoted individuals working toward taking the outlet retail category to the next level.  Our membership is comprised of:

  • Owners of factory outlet centers
  • Developers of outlet retail properties
  • Retailers engaged in the value “outlet” retail sector
  • Consultants

We operate on a triple bottom line philosophy:

  1. We are DEVELOPERS and RETAILERS engaged in building, improving and expanding outlet centers internationally;
  2. We are DEDICATED to their success because we own and operate within them; and
  3. We are DEVOTED to their success because we have proven, time and again, to be a viable, lucrative segment of the retail sector.

Our membership expands across the globe, with members located in the United States, Canada, Europe and Asia.

Our Board

DOC&R is run and managed by a volunteer staff of industry leaders.
Our current executive officers include:

Jamie BourbeauPresident
Sharon HaggardVice President
Jeff MontangTreasurer
Michelle WaakSecretary
Brendon O’Reilly
Ann Ackerman
Charlie Devine
Jim Pye
Bernard “Buddy” Flateman
Ron Simkin
Ellen Kiely